And the Winners Are…

admin    January 11, 2011

Earlier this week, the American Library Association gave out awards for the best books of 2010.  The teen awards are as follows:

ALEX AWARDS – The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

The Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Never Had To by DC Pierson (ON ORDER)

Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard by Liz Murray

Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok

The House of Tomorrow by Peter Bognanni

The Lock Artist by Steve Hamilton

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake: A Novel by Aimee Bender

The Radleys by Matt Haig

The Reapers Are the Angels: A Novel by Alden Bell (ON ORDER)

Room: A Novel by Emma Donoghue

The Vanishing of Katharina Linden: A Novel by Helen Grant (ON ORDER)

ODYSSEY AWARD -This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

Award: The True Meaning of Smekday written by Adam Rex and narrated by Bahni Turpin

  • Honor: Alchemy and Meggy Swann written by Karen Cushman and narrated by Katherine Kellgren
  • Honor: The Knife of Never Letting Go written by Patrick Ness and narrated by Nick Podehl
  • Honor: Revolution written by Jennifer Donnelly and narrated by Emily Janice Card and Emma Bering
  • Honor: Will Grayson, Will Grayson written by John Green and David Levithan, and narrated by MacLeod Andrews and Nick Podehl

PRINTZ AWARD – The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.

Award: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

  • Honor: Stolen by Lucy Christopher
  • Honor: Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
  • Honor: Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick
  • Honor: Nothing by Janne Teller

The full list of award winning titles can be found here.